Log In Like a Boss! šŸ˜Ž

Add as many layers of protection as possible.

A friend reached out to me for help.

The issue was that his Instagram account was hacked.

From our conversation, it became clear that the individual who gained access had changed the password.

I thought, if this happened, maybe not just Instagram, but also his email account was compromised.

I asked him why he hadn't enabled two-factor authentication (two-step verification).

Honestly, even though I posed this question, I had not activated two-factor authentication myself.

To be completely honest, I'm not entirely sure how two-factor authentication actually works.

Whenever an app prompts me to enable it, I typically choose the "Later" option, thinking I'll figure it out next time.

Can you relate to this?

If your answer is yes, then read on.

After this incident, I looked into it more and found out some even scarier situations.

There are instances where individuals had their accounts compromised, and the intruder activated two-factor authentication on their end.

This means they permanently lost access to their accounts.

This seems to be quite a problem.

Iā€™m educated enough to understand the importance of such cases but lazy enough to procrastinate, hoping nothing will go wrong.

Despite spending the majority of my time with digital devices and on the internet, I still couldn't spare a few minutes for my own safety.

I agree, but what you did?

I took 3 steps after this. You can follow these same steps.

Disclaimer: The information provided is derived from my personal research and experience. I am not an expert, but rather a practitioner. It is essential to conduct your own research and seek expert advice when necessary.

Step #1

(Understand what two-factor authentication is and how it works.)

First and foremost, nothing can ensure 100% security in the online world. NOTHING!

All we can do is be aware and add as many layers of protection as possible.

Speaking of the protection, this is how 2FA works for most internet platforms:

  1. You enter your ID and password to log in.

  2. If it's correct and you've enabled 2FA, it will ask for an additional code/OTP.

Simple.

Apparently two-factor authentication and two-step verification are two different things.

Interesting! But I'm not interested in going into much detail.

When enabling 2FA, you usually get two options: either a code through SMS or using an authenticator app.

Step #2

(Enable the two-factor authentication.)

According to my research, getting a code through SMS is not the best option.

Instead, one should use an authenticator app.

I'm using the "Google Authenticator" app because it's widely used.

Please feel free to use any other app or stick to using text SMS.

Here's a video tutorial for reference: LINK

Make sure to enable this for all your online accounts using an authenticator app.

Step #3

(Inform others.)

I'm discussing this to help you with your online safety.

You should do the same. Tell your family and friends to enable 2FA.

Thank you so much for reading šŸ§˜ Mindful Scroll.

Also, feel free to reply to this email. I read and respond to all emails.

Talk to you next Sunday at 10 AM.

Cheers!
Hardik